About Us

About Us

American Packrafting Association was founded in October of 2012 by a group of avid packrafters from across the United States interested in safety, education, conservation, and ensuring that packrafting has a place on America’s public lands. We have no home office or employees, but APA is a registered unincorporated non-profit in the State of Wyoming. Our all-volunteer Board and Executive Council operate and collaborate virtually from locations throughout North America. We need your input and support. Please become a member.

Send us an email at info@packraft.org and let us know if you would like us to mail you one or more of our rack card flyers.

APA Board of Directors

  • Joseph Bell, President, Los Angeles, CA
  • Sarah Tingey, Treasurer, Mancos, CO
  • Theresa Lundquist, Secretary, Jackson, WY
  • Bix Firer, Boise, ID
  • Chad Lorenz, Tetonia, ID
  • Jack Martin, Richmond, VA
  • Marilyne Marchand, Denver, CO
  • Monte Montepare,  McCarthy-Kennicott, AK
  • Richard Stout, Kelly, WY

APA Executive Council

  • David Chenault, Missoula, MT
  • Mike Curiak, Grand Junction, CO
  • John Davis, Adirondacks, NY
  • Chris Erickson, Portland, OR
  • Jim Harris, Park City, UT
  • Bretwood Higman, Seldovia, AK
  • Ryan Jordan, Bozeman, MT
  • Wendy Loya, Eagle River, AK
  • Luc Mehl, Anchorage, AK
  • Monica Morin, Valdez, AK
  • David Nix, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Eric Riley, Jackson, WY
  • Wyatt Roscoe, Jackson, WY
  • Rich Rudow, Phoenix, AZ
  • Kelley Smith, Denver, CO
  • Jared Steyaert, McCarthy, AK


Summer 2017 Membership Survey Infographic

(To zoom in, use: Command+ on Mac, Control+ on PC)

Membership Stats as of March 2017:

Contact Us

American Packrafting Association

PO Box 13
Wilson, WY 83014